Anglo-Mysore Wars

Sujathakumari R Assistant Professor Department of History JSS College of Arts, Commerce and Science, Ooty Road, Mysuru

Anglo-Mysore Wars

The Anglo-Mysore Wars were a series of four wars fought during the last three decades of the 18th century between the Sultanate of Mysore on the one hand, and the British East India Company (represented chiefly by the neighbouring Madras Presidency), Maratha Empire, Kingdom of Travancore, and the Kingdom of Hyderabad on the other.

Solution Hyder Ali and his succeeding son Tipu fought the wars on four fronts: with the British attacking from the west, south and east and the Nizam's forces attacking from the north.

The fourth war resulted in the overthrow of the house of Hyder Ali and Tipu (the latter was killed in the fourth war, in 1799), and the dismantlement of Mysore to the benefit of the East India Company, which took control of much of the Indian subcontinent.

The four wars

- First Anglo-Mysore War
- The First Anglo-Mysore War (1767 1769) Hyder Ali enjoy some measure of success against the British, almost capturing Madras.
- The British convinced Nizam Mir Nizam Ali Khan to attack Ali.
- That was temporary, however, and the Nizam signed a new treaty with the British in February 1768.
- Ali had to contend with a British Bombay army attacking on the west and a Madras army attacking from the northeast.
- Hyder's attack towards Madras resulted in the Madras government suing for peace, and the resultant Treaty of Madras.

Second Anglo-Mysore War

- The Second Anglo-Mysore War (1780 1784) witnessed bloodier battles with fortunes fluctuating between the contesting powers.
- Tipu defeated William Baillie at the Battle of Pollilur in September 1780, and John Braithwaite at Kumbakonam in February 1782, both of whom were taken prisoners to Seringapatam.
- This war saw the comeback of Sir Eyre Coote, the British commander who defeated Ali at the Battle of Porto Novo and Arni.
- Tipu continued the war following his father's death. Finally, the war ended with the signing of the Treaty of Mangalore on 11 March 1784, which restored the *status quo ante bellum*.
- The Treaty of Gajendragad in April 1787 ended the conflict with the Marathas.
- Warren Hastings (1772-1785) was Governor-General of India during the Second Anglo- Mysore War. The Second Anglo-Mysore was fought between the years 1780-1784.

Third Anglo-Mysore War

- In the Third Anglo-Mysore War (1790 1792), Tipu, now an ally of France, invaded in 1789 the nearby Kingdom of Travancore, a British ally.
- British forces were commanded by <u>Charles</u>
 <u>Cornwallis</u>.

• The resultant war lasted three years and was a resounding defeat for Mysore. The war ended after the 1792 <u>Siege of Seringapatam</u> and the signing of the Treaty of Seringapatam, according to which Tipu had to surrender half of his kingdom to the British East India Company and its allies.

Fourth Anglo-Mysore war

- The Fourth Anglo-Mysore War (1798 1799) saw the death of Tipu and further reductions in Mysorean territory.
- Mysore's alliance with the French was seen as a threat to the East India Company and Mysore was attacked from all four sides. Mysore had 35,000 soldiers, whereas the British commanded 60,000 troops.
- Nizam Akbar Ali Khan and the Marathas launched an invasion from the north. The British won a decisive victory at the Siege of Seringapatam (1799).
- Tipu was killed during the defence of the city.
- The remaining core, around Mysore and Seringapatam, was restored to the Indian prince Yuvaraja Krishnaraja Wadiyar III (later Maharaja Krishnaraja Wadiyar III) under his grandmother's regency; members of the Wodeyar dynasty had been in power before Ali became the de facto ruler.
- The Wodeyars ruled the remnant Kingdom of Mysore until 1947, when it joined the Dominion of India.

References

- Naravane, M. S. (2014). Battles of the Honourable East India Company: Making of the Raj. New Delhi:
- Narasimha, Roddam (May 1985). Rockets in Mysore and Britain, 1750–1850 A.D